“Do you feel different?”

Just as they do on September 17, friend and family have been asking, “do you feel any different?” My gut-reaction is always no.

But as the days go by, maybe I do feel a little different. A little happier, slightly more at ease, and definitely more relaxed. I’m not sure if that’s related to being married or being through planning the wedding… either way, I’ll take it.

Leave it to the Andersons (see, I’m getting better) to finish one project and dive head first into another. Next up on our list… a complete kitchen face-lift for under $500.

So far, we’ve spent $33 updating the panty and the spice cupboard. We painted the inside white (with left over ceiling paint $0), shortened the deep shelves (free!), and attached wire baskets to the doors for easy access to Connor-consumables (3 baskets at $7/piece for the pantry and 3 baskets at $4/piece for the spice rack).

Next up:

– Refinishing the cupboards. Something like this would be lovely. I’m really digging the two-toned cabinets, light on top and colorful on the bottom.

– Adding a new cabinet. Sorry Connor’s highchair, we’ll have to find you a  new home.

– Some sort of counter top solution. Granite would be my preference but I’m not crazy about the price and I’m not sure we’d see a total return on the investment. Maybe butcher block or maybe even cement. Oh, and a farm-style sink… I die!

– Tiling the back splash thanks to some great friends who gifted us the beautiful tile!

Have you picked up on the fact that I love a good project? Spencer does too if it means he gets to spend time in the garage and buy new tools.

This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Do you feel different?”

  1. Marie says:

    I love the two toned cabinets and I covet apron-front sinks. Ben, unfortunately, does not. My dream kitchen would have recycled glass or Squak Mountain Stone countertop.
    http://www.naturalbuilthome.com/about

  2. Patti says:

    Maybe your Dad has a guy that can get you a good price on counters and that great sink.

  3. Susan Strunk says:

    It’s a guy thing. They all love tools. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Kent has made our home wonderful with his ideas and Tools.

Leave a Reply

