Guestbook, no. So, GuestWHAT?

I’ll just say it. I’m not a fan of the traditional wedding guest book. I imagine looking at it once after the wedding and not again until I find it in a box while moving. Seems like a giant waste, but that’s just my opinion.

I want to have something, just not a book. I want something unique. Something that we can display and look at on a daily basis. It would be so much more ‘us’.

My cousins had their guests sign an antique pair of skis and a friend did the same with snowshoes. Love it, except I can’t think of something like that that Spencer and I share. Beer signs? Connor? A piece of siding from our house? Blah.

So I started searching for inspiration.

The obvious, photo booth, was the first thing that came to mind. It’s genius to check the guestbook and the ‘take home’ off the list with one expense. BTW, do they let you set those things up on an uneven front yard?

How about a homemade one instead?

Probably my favorite. But, do guests get a copy of the photo? Does someone have to staff the camera?

Signing Jenga blocks is a really cute idea except that I HATE Jenga so it would be just as useless as a book.

A tree with thumbprints. Now that would look good on my living room wall. But, it looks kind of messy, don’t you think? Maybe it would be different in a reception hall with access to plenty of bathroom sinks.

Pretty but what do you do with it after the wedding?

Hours of searching and I’m still not convinced. You know our theme, you’ve seen some of my inspiration pieces, got a guest book idea for us? We need help.

This entry was posted in Wedding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Guestbook, no. So, GuestWHAT?

  1. Elisa says:

    We’re doing the photobooth dealy. Luckily having it staffed all night is just part of the deal, and the guest book is as well. It was Tim’s “non negotiable”, and I have to say that I’m pretty jazzed about it too šŸ™‚ They give each person in the photo a copy, plus a copy for the guestbook.

    Here’s a post from my favorite wedding blog about alternative guestbook ideas. Maybe something will spark an idea?
    http://offbeatbride.com/2010/08/guestbook-alternatives

  2. Hana says:

    I was in a wedding last summer and they had a guestbook, but they also had the “matte” part of a picture frame/border that everyone signed — I don’t know how to better describe it right now so I hope that makes sense!. One of the family members had drawn them something commemorative of their wedding to put in it, but you could put a family photo from the wedding day in it… or a collage of group photos of your guests!

    • Kelly says:

      That is another great idea! My mom did that when the baby was born. Everyone who visited in the hospital signed the matte. Very special, indeed.

  3. Cindy says:

    Great ideas! – and then what about getting one of those digital photo albums that cycle through your photos!

  4. Bre Siewert says:

    Hey Kelly! Congrats on getting married and the baby!! I’m getting married too and have been checking your blog every once in awhile. Not sure if this would be something you would look through after the wedding, but I thought it was a fun idea for a guest book!

    http://emmalinebride.com/handmade-wedding/wedding-mad-libs/

    http://www.thebrokeassbride.com/2010/07/diy-or-die-mad-lib-guestbook-last-minute-cheap-fun/

    Good luck and have fun planning!!

    • Kelly says:

      Congrats right back at ya! If you’re game after the big day, I’d love to feature your wedding on the blog. Keep me posted. šŸ™‚

  5. Marie says:

    I love the photo booth idea. No, you don’t need it to be manned all night. Meghann and Steve just set up a camera on a tripod and people took pictures of each other. They had a white erase board for those who wanted to write messages in the pictures. If people wanted copies you could have a email sign-up form and provide a link to a shutterfly or picasa account. As long as you have a background of some sort I think this would be awesome.

    • Kelly says:

      The homemade photo booth? I think it’s totally do-able. I’m working on a post about all the different homemade styles I’ve seen. I think that would be super fun!

    • Marie says:

      I’ll have to show you the pictures from their wedding and the photo booth. I hung ribbons over a basic black photo backdrop. I think you could definitely come up with something more inspiring.

Leave a Reply

