Cha-ching

According to Wikipedia, the wedding industry is a $40 billion/year enterprise. The average cost of a wedding in the U.S. is over $24,000! And that’s just the average…

When we started planning, I was blown away by the rental fees for reception sites. From base fees and set-up charges to catering minimums and chair rental, the mark up is unbelievable. Not to mention the limitations that the venues impose – all the decorations must be down by 11:30pm, you have to use our flower service, an extra fee for a live band, and on and on and on. Good gravy!

I started poking around the internet looking for other options. That’s when I found Young House Love. Sherry and John are a young couple doing it their way. Take a peek at their DIY wedding. I think I found my inspiration!

We know that hosting our own wedding won’t be cheap but we hope it will be cheaper. I guess it’s a trade off. When someone else hosts it, they do all the work. I would guess that’s what seals the deal for most couples. More importantly for us, when we do it ourselves, we get to do it however we want. We’re free to have all the Surly beer you can drink, bonfire bits for toasting ‘mallows, and the finest amateur fireworks display you’ll ever see.

This entry was posted in Wedding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cha-ching

  1. Samantha says:

    Love this blog! Can’t wait to read/see more! 🙂
    PS I am a follower of Young House Love as well! It’s incredible!

    • k3lb3lj3l says:

      Yay! I’d love to profile your wedding in a future post. Let me know if you’d be game.

  2. Andrea GrandPre says:

    SO happy you’re doing your wedding your way. It’s the best way to do it and I don’t regret for one moment deciding ours needed to be on a beach with an informal dinner. LOVE IT and thrilled for you! Enjoy the planning and please post pics!

  3. aneessa says:

    Cannot wait for the bid day! I know your DIY wedding will be one to boast about!

Leave a Reply

